Question -- NOT A SUGGESTION -- about ambient temperature

The place to talk about how BTW might be different
MisterFister

Question -- NOT A SUGGESTION -- about ambient temperature

Post by MisterFister »

First off, some fanmail: I was very late to the Minecraft craze, and I can proudly say that I have no vanilla Minecraft experience, as 100% of my Minecraft playtime is through Better Than Wolves. I don't count the handful of one-off attempts to sit down and play vanilla, and it just gets boring quickly when I realize that I literally don't even need to make tools until after I have an aboveground base established. This creates some odd elements of confusion when I go to look up crafting recipes and apparently this mod still uses the vanilla, but hey, I'm at least smart enough to realize that BTW is awesome, so I manage.

Now my question: In the last few version updates, there's been a "new mechanic" of some sort that I think we all weren't exactly expecting. Is the base game capable of supporting a mod that introduces ambient temperature health effects? Overheating or dehydration (or both) in desert and swamp, hypothermia in snow biomes, etc.?

This is not a suggestion, please don't ban me, but I am asking the question because it seems like something FC would have thought of. I recently ran across FC's playthrough with IcyNewYear dated from about 3 years ago, wherein FC was mentioning that BTW development was somehow winding down (...? no please, your work is awesome, same for KSP-BTSM) but I don't recall any straight-from-Flowerchild any mention of temperature. I recall one errant mention of wind effects during storms, but I don't recall the context and cannot find the post now to even confirm in my mind who uttered it.
Katalliaan

Re: Question -- NOT A SUGGESTION -- about ambient temperatur

Post by Katalliaan »