MC Modding Beginner Here ^.^

This forum is for anything that doesn't specifically have to do with Better Than Wolves
BinoAl

MC Modding Beginner Here ^.^

Post by BinoAl »

Couldn't sleep at all last night, so pulled an all nighter playing with mcp. I've done a bit of visual basic, but oop in general is really new to me. I toyed around with it a bit, made coal ore drop diamonds, made reeds grow to 25 meters high (but couldnt for the life of me figure out how to make them grow quicker) and even made crafting a log into planks give me 64 wood ^.^ Any ideas of what I can try? I hate following tutorials, I like figuring things out on my own. I'm not good enough to make a whole new block, but what I've done so far is nothing more than replacing words and numbers, and won't get me anywhere.
PrivateAlpha

Re: MC Modding Beginner Here ^.^

Post by PrivateAlpha »

Well basics first:
*own block type
*new type of ore
*New tools
*New fuel type
*basic overlay things: Like the time(Ingame time or real) ingame weather etc

Also are you modding with Forge api? if not, shame on you! :P
Urian

Post by Urian »

Try switching textures between blocks? I've never tried to make any modifications to the code myself and I only know html and some VB so you probably know more about it already than I do :)
FlowerChild: Ice in deserts is a good idea
JWA

Post by JWA »

Well I don't know the first thing about whats possible with it, but can you make one thing behave like another? For instance make lava flow like water, obsidian fall like sand, or some other such mischief?
BinoAl

Post by BinoAl »

JWA wrote:Well I don't know the first thing about whats possible with it, but can you make one thing behave like another? For instance make lava flow like water, obsidian fall like sand, or some other such mischief?