A Grand Personal Realization: I don't like programming

This forum is for anything that doesn't specifically have to do with Better Than Wolves
FlowerChild
Site Admin

A Grand Personal Realization: I don't like programming

Post by FlowerChild »

Hehe...oddly, this just came out of an MCF discussion, but after 25 years of doing it, I just realized I don't much care for programming.

I'm kinda stunned by this but thinking back over my past, I'm realizing that in situations where I tried to force myself to code something where I wasn't passionate about the end result, I basically lacked all motivation.

It's the first time I've really put my finger on it and realized that I am not a programmer by nature. It's just a tool I use to get the job done, and that "job" has always been the creation of games for me. I think back even to my early childhood when I was making crude pinball machines out of cardboard, and how it had nothing to do with enjoying working with cardboard, and how I seem to have forgotten that somewhere along the way. It also explains my strong aversion for ever working in anything even vaguely related to "business programming". Heck, I couldn't even really handle working on tools for a game-development project without becoming miserable.

I'm also realizing that a lot of my own personal design philosophy orients itself around avoiding programming as much as possible, because I'd really just prefer not to do it if I don't have to. I think this is directly related to my obsession with "bang for the buck", which is not only extremely practical in terms of getting things done, but which may also represent my own desire to avoid programming if I can get something just as fun as a result.