Elevator knowing to go up/down twice

A place to talk to other users about the mod.
monkeyman611

Elevator knowing to go up/down twice

Post by monkeyman611 »

So I'm working on a 4 floor elevator but I ran into a problem. In some cases, the elevator will need to go up or down twice, but how will it know to do that?
I.E. :
The elevator is on Floor 1, you are on Floor 2.
You call it to your floor, then you request to go to Floor 3.

I know that I'll need a repeater at the top, but how is it going to know when to use the repeater? I'm fairly new to redstone, but I get it enough to do complexish things
blazeboy91

Re: Elevator knowing to go up/down twice

Post by blazeboy91 »

I had an idea on this, which is untested. At each floor there is a corresponding button to each floor. Each button is hooked up to its place in a central hub. The buttons are attached to rs nor latches. the output from those is connected to an and gate. The original button also starts the elevator. A detector block at each floor is hooked up to a corresponding and gate. When the and gate gets a positive output then that goes to a rs-nor latch. Which will then turn off the elevator. That is the only way i have thought of making a working elevator go on multiple floors. That was the hard way.

A simple way which i have just thought of is having a button going to a rs nor latch. That would go to a set of repeaters which is timed so when a person makes it to the floor, the charge would turn the elevator off. Then it would also have button that would reset all the rs nor latches. (there is an rs nor latch for each floor). This is much less hard then the originally way. And all the repeater outputs go to either a piece of redstone that acts as a junction, or to the pulley itself. Explanation: The rs-nor latch is for the output to be permanent until reset by the button at each floor, or timed if you are really good.

In Conclusion: