Concrete Moulds (for stone panels/moulding/corners)

If you want to get banned, this is the place to post.
Oofnish

Concrete Moulds (for stone panels/moulding/corners)

Post by Oofnish »

Hello all, I'm relatively new to this magnificent mod, which has totally revitalized my singleplayer Minecraft enjoyment! (and hopefully Multiplayer eventually)

I noticed that the method for creating stone panels was subject to change, pending a better manufacturing option, and I thought I'd suggest an idea I had along those lines. I did a search and didn't come across anything like this, but I apologize if its been seen before.

My idea involves a new tool block (eg, "Mold Block") that allows crafting concrete (i.e., stone) panels, moulding, and corners by making a mold shape around a bucket of concrete. The tool block is perhaps unnecessary, as the recipe ideas I have could simply be added to the workbench, but a specialized block might lead to more options (and fewer crafting recipe conflicts).

Mold Block
The recipe for the tool block could be pretty basic, since it doesn't have to be much more than a flat surface. Two alternatives types come to mind.

Simple version: a smooth stone table, with clamps mounted on top and raised from the floor on legs. This version would involve buckets of concrete in each recipe.

Complex version: similar, but instead of wooden risers, the table sits atop a pump mechanism (two gears surrounding a belt in the recipe?). In order to operate, the block would need to be placed adjacent to or on top of a liquid concrete source block. Of course this means that the concrete would have to be freshly poured, or maintained in liquid form by redstone. The source block would be consumed in the process. Mechanical energy would be supplied to a side of the block to activate the pump. (Note, this raises the issue of persistent inventory for a crafting item, esp. if hand cranks are a valid option for pump operation...)

Operation